## APPENDIX CANADIAN CITIZENSHIP STUDY QUESTIONS & ANSWERS For the City of Richmond. Up-to-date as of April 16, 2023.

What is the name of the Governor General?

Mary Simon is the Governor General of Canada.

Name all the federal political parties represented in the House of Commons and their leaders.

Liberal Party – Justin Trudeau Conservative Party – Pierre Poilievre Bloc Québécois – Yves-François Blanchet New Democratic Party – Jagmeet Singh Green Party – Elizabeth May

Which federal political party is in power?

The Liberal party is in power federally.

What is the name of the Prime Minister of Canada and his/her party?

Justin Trudeau (Liberal Party) is the Prime Minister of Canada.

What party is the Official Opposition at the federal level?

The Conservative Party is the Official Opposition at the federal level.

Name the federal electoral districts in Richmond, British Columbia.

The City of Richmond has two electoral districts: Richmond Centre, and Steveston-Richmond East.

Name the Members of Parliament for Richmond, British Columbia and the parties they belong to (Richmond Centre, Steveston-Richmond East respectively).

The Member of Parliament for Richmond Centre is Wilson Miao, who belongs to the Liberal Party. The Member of Parliament for Steveston-Richmond East, Parm Bains, belongs to the Liberal Party.

Find out who your MP is by entering your postal code at the web site: <a href="https://www.ourcommons.ca/members/en/search">https://www.ourcommons.ca/members/en/search</a>

What is the name of the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia?

The Honourable Janet Austin is the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia.

What political party is in power in British Columbia?

The New Democratic Party of British Columbia is in power in British Columbia.

What is the name of the Premier of British Columbia?

David Eby is the Premier of British Columbia.

What is the name of the leader of the opposition in British Columbia?

Kevin Falcon (BC United) is the Leader of the Opposition in British Columbia.

Name the Members of the Legislative Assembly for Richmond, British Columbia and the parties they belong to (Richmond North Centre, Richmond South Centre, Richmond-Steveston, and Richmond-Queensborough respectively).

Teresa Wat (BC United) is the MLA for Richmond North Centre. Henry Yao (BC NDP) is the MLA for Richmond South Centre. Aman Singh (BC NDP) is the MLA for Richmond-Queensborough. Kelly Greene (BC NDP) is the MLA for Richmond-Steveston.

Find out who your MLA is by entering your postal code at the web site: <a href="https://www.leg.bc.ca/learn-about-us/members">https://www.leg.bc.ca/learn-about-us/members</a>
Or call Elections BC at 1-800-661-8683.

What is the name of the Mayor of Richmond, British Columbia?

The name of Richmond's mayor is Malcolm Brodie.

Name three city councillors for Richmond, British Columbia.

Richmond has eight council positions: Chak Au, Carol Day, Bill McNulty, Alexa Loo, Michael Wolfe, Andy Hobbs, Laura Gillanders and Kash Heed.

Take a practice test on the Library's web site at www.yourlibrary.ca/citizenship/