Kids’ Book Reviews

Looking for something to read? Check out some of the books that kids in Richmond are reading this summer!

 

 

Author: Gertrude Chandler Warner
Reviewer: Benny (7 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/31/2021
Summary:

This book is about four kids Henry,Jessie,Violet and Benny the Aldens.In this book they travel to Egypt,Nairobi,England and Rome.They travel to deliver artifacts to museums.There is another family the Argents who run a store and try to take the items they are supposed to deliver.

Review:

I like this book because it is adventures and I like adventures.They also see cool stuff.You get too learn about the artifacts they try to deliver too!


Author: Alex Latimer
Reviewer: Avery (6 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/24/2021
Summary:

There was a boy named Tim. No one believed him. He said a ninja ate mom’s cake. An astronaut took dad’s hammer. A giant squid ate book bag. Parents thought he was telling lies. But he was not. He got an idea to get all the creatures to his house. Parents knew what happened. There was a party.

Review:

I like this book because it’s a story of telling the truth. Even if your parents don’t think you are telling the truth, you still have to tell the truth.


Author: Suzanne Francis
Reviewer: Rachel (6 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/20/2021
Summary:

This book is about Bruni following Elsa to the forest for an adventure. Bruni played with Olaf. They smelled the flowers together and disturbed a bee! Bruni quickly heated up, and Olaf tried to cool him off but it didn’t work. Then Bruni finally cooled off by hopping onto Olaf’s head. In the end Elsa found them and played with them.

Review:

I like this book because the adventure was cool, and characters are silly and cute.


Author: Rick Riordan
Reviewer: Ryan (9 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/20/2021
Summary:

In the beginning, it all starts out with Carter and Sadie Kane getting together again, because after their mother died, Carter lived with their dad, Dr. Julius Kane, and Sadie lived with their grandparents, Grandma and Grandpa Faust. Sadie got to live with their grandparents, because after two fistfights in court and The Great Spatula Incident between the Fausts and Mr. Kane, Gran and Gramps got Sadie while their dad got Carter. Then, on the night of their get-together, they go to the British Museum, where their dad accidentally releases all 5 gods from the Rosetta Stone, hence forth leading to Set, the Egyptian god of Chaos, to unleash carnage and destruction to the world. Then, Sadie and Carter get possessed by the Egyptian gods Isis and Horus. Later, their Uncle Amos takes them to Brooklyn, the 21st Nome, so they can learn to be Egyptian magicians. They then set off on a quest with Bast, their cat goddess chaperone, to step Set and save the universe. They meet Zia Rashid, another magician of the 1st Nome, Egypt, and Zia trains them for about a minute before the new Chief Lector, Desjardins, started to hunt them. They then steal about 3 BMWs and one camper van on their way to Phoenix, Arizona, to stop Set from assembling his Red Pyramid.

Review:

I liked this book because it has lots of funny parts and action scenes. My favourite part is when Carter tricks Sekhmet, the lion goddess, into chugging salsa, and when she asked: “What blood is this? Nubian? Serbian?” And then Carter says his line so slickly it’s smooth like butter: “It’s jalapeño!” Overall this book is a great save-the-world sort of story, so I give it a 10 out of 10.


Author: Aaron Reynolds
Reviewer: Rosemary (7 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/17/2021
Summary:

Miranda Montgomery is trying to save her teacher. She was trying to save her teacher because she was watching a show called Nature Joe. He saves animals when they are hurt or in a wrong habitat.

Review:

I like this book because it is funny!


Author: Melanie Watt
Reviewer: Evan (5 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/17/2021
Summary:

This book is about Scared Squirrel and a birthday party. He was scared of clown fish, ants, Big Foot, and ponies, and porcupines, and confetti. And when he was setting up on 1:00pm, dogs appeared and plays dead. Scaredy Squirrel blows out his birthday candle. He forgets all about the clown fish, Big Foot, confetti, ponies, and porcupines.

Review:

I like this book because the Scaredy Squirrel books are silly. I like the \”Detail 3. Prepare a Birthday Party Schedule.\”


Author: David Mclimans
Reviewer: Avery (6 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/14/2021
Summary:

Toad saved a girl and sacrificed herself. Toad collected the soil from deepest under water, and toad was too tired and dead. Animals built an island on big turtle’s back, and it grew into the world for human. No one can harm toad and their kids because toad is honored.

Review:

I like this book because toad is brave, and animals are kind.


Author: Ruth Hatfield
Reviewer: Hilden (9 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/07/2021
Summary:

Danny O’Neil wakes up after a storm and finds his parents missing. Outside he finds a stick that allows him to have conversations with trees, animals, and bodies of water. He soon finds out that the stick is called a \”taro\” and that a man called Sammael wants to kill him for the taro. Will Danny be powerful enough to defeat Sammael or will Sammael kill him and get the taro?

Review:

I like this book because it is fantastical, fun to read and it kept me engaged to the end of the book. The author included challenges for Danny to overcome.


Author: Katherine Applegate
Reviewer: Fatima (11 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/06/2021
Summary:

This book is about Jackson, whose family is poor, with barely enough food and just few furniture. His family might have to live in their minivan due to their lack of money. But when Jackson met Crenshaw, a big cat who was Jackson’s imaginary friend, whom he created in 1 grade, he wanted him to be out of his life. But Crenshaw made him realize that having an imaginary friend in life isn’t that bad. It’s actually helpful…

Review:

I liked this book very much, despite the fact that Jackson is homeless at such young age. Even though I know there are many people who are homeless, this story was really heart touching. What I actually liked about this book: The plot was very good, describing details and settings perfectly. Another thing is the cover of the book has a smooth texture and had beautiful colors. It draws the reader in. Also, the book contained so many facts. I learned a lot of random facts from it. And the last thing is about the character development. Their personality was explained with detail through the narration from Jackson, it was unique. The thing I didn’t like about this book is how Jackson and his family had to go through such a hard time. It was sad, reading being homeless in such tender age. But otherwise, the book was very good. I rate this book 4.5/5.


Author: Natalie Babbit
Reviewer: Derek (12 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/05/2021
Summary:

This book is about a boy named Egan, who went to visit his aunt and uncle at a town called Instep, which is known for a fair, every Autumn, about a supposed beast named the Megrimum who dwelled in the peak of the nearby mountain, Kneenock Rise. This supposed beast would make a loud moaning sound on rainy Autumn nights.
During the fair, Egan was taunted by his cousin who was also there, and dared him to climb the Rise, and find the beast.
Egan, stubbornly, accepted the dare, and began climbing the rise, along with the dog which once belonged to his other uncle, who was now missing. At the top, to his surprise, he found his missing uncle Ott, and came to a surprising revelation.
The Megriumum was not real. The loud moaning heard on those rainy Autumn days was just a hot spring.
Egan came back down from the rise and was met by his family and the townspeople, worried sick about him.
When he arrived back at Instep, he told his aunt and uncle what happened, and they couldn’t believe him. After all of those years, fairs, and celebrations, the beast was just a mere hole in the ground that connected to a hot spring?
At the end, they decided to keep Egan’s findings a secret, and merely add his journey up the rise, to the mysterious lore of the Megrimum.

Review:

Personally, I really like this book because of its interesting plot, tiny details and hints in the story, which end up linking up to lore, memorable and relatable characters, and of course, a surprising ending. I enjoyed this book a lot, and I also hope you like my book report.


Author: Alan Gratz
Reviewer: Fatima (11 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/05/2021
Summary:

This book contains the story of three different children, in a different time period, suffering from loss, hardships and dangerous environments. Joseph, who lives in Germany during Adolf Hitler’s reign, has to escape the Nazis in order to save his family. Isabel lives in the tiny island of Cuba, which is suffering from short food supply because of the Soviet Union falling apart. Mahmoud, who lives in Syria, is watching the bombs drop by and exploding buildings. All three children goes to different but desperate journey in order to save themselves and their family.

Review:

I like this book for the plot, the emotional parts, and it contains very heart touching stories. And, in my opinion, unlike other books/novels, it has more strengths than weaknesses. In fact, I didn’t found any weakness in the story except for the deaths and losses of family, which was depressing. The first strength is detailed cultural information. The book contains lots of information of different cultures, from which I got learn so much about. The author’s way of putting the information was really good and made it so…informative. The second strength is the developing plot. The plot kept me hooked into the book, with a lot of suspense and cliffhangers. It was really captivating and the author kept it very gripping. The third strength is character development. The author explained the characters, their personality and their style with such details; I could imagine them in my head. Even though refugees suffer from death or loss, it was really heart-wrenching to read that. I mean, isn’t it really a nightmare for a mother to choose that which child would have to go to concentration camp and which would not? Or having to give away your baby, in the middle of a storm while you are drowning? The book contained so many facts, and overall, it was a good book to read. I would rate it 4.5/5.


Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Reviewer: Mila (8 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/03/2021
Summary:

Whatever After If the Shoe Fits is written by: Sarah Mlynowski. This book is 1 out of 14 of her Whatever After collection. Her books are the New York Times Best Selling Series. I chose to read this book because it was the second book following the first book I read called, “Whatever After Fairest of all.”
The book has many characters – Cinderella, a girl named Abby, Abby’s little brother named Jonah, Cinderella’s stepmother named Betty, one of Cinderella’s stepsisters named Kayla, Cinderella’s second stepsister named Beatrice, the fairy godmother, the man who drives the carriage named Gary-the-goatee-guy, and Jordan the prince.
This story starts off at Abby’s home in the basement. Abby and Jonah were trying to talk to Mary Rose their fairy who lives in a mirror but instead Mary Rose sent them into Cinderella’s story. They were transported to the coatroom in the castle. Abby and Jonah accidentally messed up the story. They came out of a coatroom and suddenly the clock stroked twelve. Cinderella ran out of the castle and Abby and Jonah followed her home. A while later Cinderella stopped and turned around and asked them why they were following her. Abby said, “we’re not following you.” Cinderella replied, “yes you are.” Abby and Jonah both told Cinderella they needed to use the washroom. Cinderella told them there are public washrooms over there. Jonah said that they needed to use her washroom again. Cinderella said, “fine.” Then they all went to Cinderella’s house. Abby and Jonah went to explore the mansion. Cinderella’s stepfamily returned home. Abby and Jonah hid in the stepsisters’ room. Abby went under Kayla’s bed. Jonah went under Beatrice’s bed. Downstairs in the basement, Cinderella was doing laundry. When the stepsisters came out of the room Abby and Jonah came out from under the beds and went down to see Cinderella, but they accidentally scared her, so she dropped the glass slipper on her foot and her toe became swollen. The glass slipper shattered in a million glass pieces so now the glass slipper does not fit Cinderella. Betty came to the basement and saw Abby and Jonah and asked what they were doing. Abby replied that they were here to help Cinderella because she hurt her toe . Then Betty asked, “how did she hurt her toe?” Abby didn’t want to let Betty know Cinderella had the glass slipper so she said, “because she dropped a glass sled.” Abby and Jonah helped around the house when it was dinner time. They made Caesar salad and a giant chicken. Then it was time for dessert. They made brownies they called them crownies. The next day Abby, Jonah and Cinderella went to the marketplace and made $30 in one day. They spent $10 so now they only had $20 left. The next day they made $100. In total they have $120 at the end of the story. Cinderella let her kind sister Kayla marry the prince because Kayla loves the prince. Cinderella made enough money to rent an apartment to live on her own. And the fairy godmother turned Beatrice and Betty into birds. Abby and Jonah went in the magic fireplace and it zapped them back to their home. They all lived happily ever after. The end.

Review:

I liked the characters and details in this story and I would recommend the book to another person.


Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Reviewer: Natalie (8 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/03/2021
Summary:

This book is about abby and her friends fall into Wonderland.

Review:

I like this book because Abby went to wonderland.


Author: Ellen Porter
Reviewer: Tiger (8 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/02/2021
Summary:

a Big Foot, as known as Sasquatches, whose name is Hugo. In a Sasquatches world, they are not allowed to see humans, because they think humans are dangerous. Strangly, Hugo got really curious what humans look like. He got his chance when a holiday only Sasquatches celebrate called Frog Moon Festival came, during this time you have to do an \”Act of Bravery\”, Hugo wracked his brain what he can do to show bravery. He finally came up an idea that he could sneak away from the festival and find the boy he saw before. He found the boy and had a bunch of adventures with him, the boy’s name is Boone, he is the little foot the title mentioned.

Review:

it shows bravery and courage of Hugo, the big foot to visit a human which is forbidden in Sasquatch world. Besides, it teaches me to be kind and respectful of each other’s feeling, no matter if they belongs to your group or not.


Author: Roshani Chokshi
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/01/2021
Summary:

This book is about Aru, who’s accused of stealing a God’s bow and arrow. She and the other Pandava’s have ten days to find it or risk getting kicked out of the Otherworld- forever!

Review:

I like this book because there’s new Pandava’s and it\’s a great adventure…


Author: Katy Carina
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/01/2021
Summary:

This book is about a girl named Karen who has her worst day. She got 14 worst things on that day. She even got sent to her room for helping her brother (who doesn’t like his hair long) cut his hair. And the ice cream truck ran out of her favourite Italian ice cream! This is her worst day ever!

Review:

I like this book because bad things happen and that’s what makes a book interesting.


Author: Beka And Crip
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 08/01/2021
Summary:

This book is about three girls who love to dance. They have an arch enemy, Carla. The class is preparing for the upcoming production of Sleeping Beauty. Carla will do anything to beat Julie to the best role. Can Julie make it?

Review:

I like this book because there’s dancing and a production.


Author: Wade Albert White
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/01/2021
Summary:

This book is about a girl named Anne, who’s an orphan and lives at Saint Lupin’s Orphanage. Her dream is to find out about her mysterious past, and is sent on a quest with her best friend, Penelope, and a boy, Hiro. They are tasked with the rightful heir quest. They have four days to solve a riddle, or face the consequences- being locked up. Can they finish their quest?

Review:

I like this book because it’s very interesting and they have a cool quest ahead of them. The Matron always catches up to them and helps prevent something bad to happen.


Author: Raina Telgemeier
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 0
Date: 08/01/2021
Summary:

This book is about 4 friends who make a baby-sitting club and helps babysit.

Review:

I like this book because it’s in comics, and the clubs cool.


Author: Raina Telgemeier
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 08/01/2021
Summary:

This book is about a girl named Stacey, who has diabetes and is facing baby-sitting problems. There’s a rival baby-sitting club trying to win all the people and make lots of money.

Review:

I like this book because I have to admit that the rival baby-sitting club’s kinda funny because they just want to make money and does some hilarious things.


Author: Robert Munsch
Reviewer: Emerson (6 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/29/2021
Summary:

This book is about Anna learning to be careful.

Review:

I like this book because Anna said no no no no no no.


Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Reviewer: Natalie (8 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/29/2021
Summary:

This book is about when Abby, Frankie, and Robin go to Penny’s house and have a playdate. They were playing crazy eights then Abby had the Queen of hearts card, but then the wind blew the card away over the fence. Abby tried to chase the card, but it fell into a hole then they were in Wonderland.

Review:

I like this book because Abby and her friends[Penny sort of] went to Wonderland. I dislike this book because Penny is sort of bossy.


Author: Frozen
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/28/2021
Summary:

This book is about frozen adventures. From capturing the northern lights to saving a reindeer, this book is filled with stories!

Review:

I like this because all the wonderful frozen stories are all piled into one comic book that’s awesome. When two brothers were arguing, i laughed so hard!


Author: Frozen
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/28/2021
Summary:

This is about Anna, Elsa, Kristoff, Sven, and Olaf’s frozen adventures. From saving a treasure map to mysteries, and more!

Review:

I like this book because there are multiple stories in one single comic book! They are all so exciting and fun. Some are mysteries, too.


Author: Erin Entrada Kelly
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/28/2021
Summary:

This book is about a girl named Marisol Rainey. Marisol replies things with the word, \”maybe.\” She is scared to climb Peppina, the tree in her yard. Her friend discovers a bird nest in the tree. Will Marisol climb it now?

Review:

I like this book because Marisol and her friend sneak up on Marisol’s brother, Oz.


Author: Saadia Faruqi
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/28/2021
Summary:

This book is about a curious second-grader, Yasmin. She’s always on the lookout for adventures. She sometimes have some trouble…

Review:

I like this book because Yasmin has adventures and learns new things.


Author: Lisa Mcmann
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/28/2021
Summary:

This book is about evil Gondolery’s reign, now she uses her magic to kill unwanteds and necessaries, some that moved back, that were useless. Alex and his friends have to face her and kill her. Every time, she shoots fireballs that injure people. With Alex gone to get his twin brother Aaron back, the others form teams to conquer Gondolery. Carina was the only survivor in her group. Too bad. Aaron comes back and Ishibashi-san tamed him good from his olden ways.

Review:

I like this book because the brothers, Alex and Aaron reunite at last, and they also rescue a girl from USA.


Author: Lisa Mcmann
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/28/2021
Summary:

This book is about when Alex and his friends end up lost at sea. Their sip was damaged and Sean got injured and Simber had to take him back. Then a hurricane blocks their only way back to Artíme. Can they make it home?

Review:

I like this book because they all survived and they met very interesting people and animals.


Author: Lincoln Peirce
Reviewer: Natalie (8 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/27/2021
Summary:

The book is about Nate Wright and his life.

Review:

I liked this book because it was funny. I dislike this book because there are bullies in the book.


Author: Dana Simpson
Reviewer: Natalie (8 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/27/2021
Summary:

The book is about Phoebe met Marigold Heavenly Nostrils and now their best friends.

Review:

what I didn’t like was that I have other Phoebe and her unicorn books and the pictures are a little different in this Phoebe and her unicorn.


Author: The Editors Of Yes Mag
Reviewer: Hilden (9 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/25/2021
Summary:

This book tells about six real-life mysteries and how the scientists solved them. The mystery about the dying vultures surprised me the most because I thought vultures could eat anything. The vultures were dying because they were eating a toxic pain killer called Diclofenac. Farmers used this pain killer to keep injured farm animals going so that the farmers could keep making money. Another case is about a mummy that was found in the Alps. The mummy lived to be fifty-three hundred years old! There is also a mystery about how DNA was passed on. I didn’t like that one very much because I’m not interested in DNA. Scientists work very hard to solve mysteries like these. From this book I learned that scientists also can act as detectives to solve mysteries.

Review:

I like this book because It teaches me a lot about scientists, but I will not want to be a scientist when I grow up because I think it will be boring.


Author: Ruth Ohi
Reviewer: Baker (3 years old)
Rating: 0
Date: 07/25/2021
Summary:

Circles and squares and shapes that are real shapes and they meet a Scribble who is fun

Review:

I like this book because I thought my scribbles were messy but they’re even better than shapes when I draw now


Author: Shannon Hale
Reviewer: Scottie (5 years old)
Rating: 0
Date: 07/25/2021
Summary:

A princess who is secretly a super hero named the princess in black and she saves the goats from monsters !

Review:

I liked this book because I like to be a princess too and sometimes I want to be a super hero and the princess in black is both!


Author: Jory John
Reviewer: Rosabelle (7 years old)
Rating: 3
Date: 07/24/2021
Summary:

This book is about a little elephant that has a itch on its back. But everybody that she asks to scratch her back can’t. A crocodile can, but it licked its lips like it would eat it instead.

Review:

I like this book because it’s funny and in the middle of the book the elephant asks a sloth to scratch its back! And she tells the sloth to hurry up but the sloth doesn’t really move because it’s so slow. It’s says it’s going as fast as it can.


Author: Tracey West
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/24/2021
Summary:

Dragon Masters who have to find a lava dragon to turn Drake’s friends and dragons from stone back. They still have to find a wind dragon and a sea dragon. They have to hurry, Astrid has all the ingredients for the false-life spell! Jayana warns them. At the end of the book, Drake tells Worm to take him to Astrid! And that’s the end of the book.

Review:

I like this book because they find a new dragon master and Drake goes to the fortress where Astrid is, because I wonder what she will do when she sees Drake unstoned.


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/24/2021
Summary:

Fitz’s brother lost his memory. A new shade, umber, died. Tam must take her place. He’s bond with things on his wrists that controlls Tam within Lady gisela. He obeys any order. Sophie and her friends must save him from the neverseen.

Review:

I like this book because there’s a cool shade.


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/24/2021
Summary:

Sophie has blank spots in her past. There’s mysteries around her family. The neverseen will attack the dwarves next. Sophie Foster is the new leader of Team Valiant. A team that are young for regents. for the council.

Review:

I like this book because sophie becomes a regent young for her age. and the neverseen attacks! ………


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/24/2021
Summary:

Sophie is back in the lost cities. The neverseens getting worse. They capture elves. There’s a threat or war. Read this exciting series!

Review:

I like this book because there’s magical abilities and the neverseen, which I adore…


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/24/2021
Summary:

Sophie finds her sister. The neverseen has taken her parents back to nightfall, Lady Gisela’s special facility. Vespera, former prisoner of Lumenaria experments on humans.

Review:

I like this book because Sophie meets Amy (her sister) again.


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/24/2021
Summary:

This book is a guide book, tells about abilities, files, and elvin places.

Review:

I like this book because there’s secrets that’s never revealed in the other books. There’s even files about the neverseen and the black swan! this series is highly recommended! Try it, you’ll like it!


Author: Molly Knox Ostertang
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/24/2021
Summary:

this book is about a girl who’s rescued by a selkie, named Keltie. Keltie has some secrets of her own. The girls’ start to fall in love.

Review:

I like this book because there’s Serena and a selkie.


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/23/2021
Summary:

Sophie encounters new enemies. They have the forbidden fire ability. Can she stop the flames burning everything and everyone she loves?

Review:

I like this book because Sophie has cool friends with different abilities.


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/23/2021
Summary:

Sophie found the rarest female alicorn. She has to train it and the council’s watching. Kidnappers want Sophie and the alicorn, Silveney. They get captured, will they escape? Sophie can communicate with Silveney with her telepathic powers.

Review:

I like this book because there’s cool abilities (what each elf can do). I do not like this book because Sophie gets kidnapped.


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/23/2021
Summary:

People are battling the wrong group. Sophie knows. Sophie and her friends and spotted by the Neverseen (the evil group that everyone’s supposed to battle) joining the Black Swan (the group that made Sophie).

Review:

I like this book because they join the black swan and receive swan pendants.


Author: Lisa Mcmann
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/23/2021
Summary:

The Unwanteds have no food, no water, and no hope. And everyone is looking to Alex Stowe for answers. Overwhelmed and feeling totally helpless, Alex knows it’s up to him to find a way to restore Artimé, rescue his captive friends, and free Megan from her voice-stealing necklace of thorns—three impossible tasks.

Review:

I like this book because Alex restores Artime and finds a riddle from Mr. Today that needs teamwork to be solved.


Author: Lisa Mcmann
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/23/2021
Summary:

This book is about rescuing Sky and Crow’s mother. The unwanteds will encounter creatures that r not so friendly. Will they be able to save Sky’s mother? They will also meet pirates…

Review:

I like this book because they go on an adventure. I do not like this book because they meet a mean eel that takes Florence prisoner.


Author: Lisa Mcmann
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/23/2021
Summary:

This book is about the unwanteds and when Mr. Today goes missing, and his daughter also. Two strange orange-eyed teenagers arrive from the island of Warbler. There’s a mystery going on!

Review:

I like this book because Alex becomes head mage of Artime.


Author: Edizioni Piemme
Reviewer: Jordan (8 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/22/2021
Summary:

The book is about a mouse named Geronimo, who likes going skiing, but had an accident because someone bumped into him. Then he smashed into a rock and went to the hospital because he broke every bone in his body. At the hospital, Geronimo meets some new friends and their names are Ratty and Sammy. His relatives and friends also come to wish him a good recovery. He also meets the mouse that bumped into him, whose name is Speedy Daremouse and instead of being enemies, Geronimo forgives him and they keep each other company and tell each other jokes.

Review:

I like this book because it is funny especially the part that Trap snorts \”Of course! You were the last one up sleepyhead! Of course there’s no hot water left!\”


Author: Hallie Durand
Reviewer: Clinton (6 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/20/2021
Summary:

a boy named Mitchell pretending his dad is a car.

Review:

I like this book because Mitchell thinks his dad is a car but he isn’t.


Author: Jessica Kim
Reviewer: Kayla (11 years old)
Rating: 0
Date: 07/20/2021
Summary:

Stand Up, Yumi Chung is about Yumi’s dream to become a comedian. She struggles with her strict parents, who push her to get a scholarship; living up to her genius sister, fitting in, and her parent’s money problems with their restaurant. One day, she walks by a comedy club, where her hero, Jasmine Jasper, is teaching a comedy camp. Jasmine mistakes Yumi for someone else, and Yumi gets to attend the camp. Yumi learns about a school for aspiring comedians which she desperately wants to go to. She makes friends, and has a great time, until her lies unravel. Her world falls apart, with her sister moving away and their restaurant about to close. It’s up to Yumi to save their restaurant and convince her parents to let her be who she wants.

Review:

I like this book because it has a good message of not being scared of failure and just going for it. Yumi learns that she doesn’t need to change, but instead she has to find her true self.


Author: Lisa Mcmann
Reviewer: Hilden (9 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/17/2021
Summary:

Charlie Wilde moves to Arizona when her parents got new jobs as a doctor and a teacher. For Charlie, everything has changed — her house, her school, and her friends. Even her life changes, when she found a high-tech bracelet. The bracelet gives her the speed of a cheetah, the strength of an elephant, the healing powers of a starfish, and more powers to be discovered. Where does the bracelet come from?
Charlie’s friendship with her friends reminds me of the series Warriors where some cat friends also had a strong bond with their friends. For instance, Mac and Maria helped Charlie keep her bracelet safe from \\”soldiers\\” who were trying to steal back the bracelet. In one of the Warriors’ book series, Graystripe and Fireheart had a strong friendship because they helped each other out in hard situations.

Review:

I like this book because it includes nature, magic, and danger. Another reason I like this book because the friends in the book have problems, but they stay together to solve it. I think Lisa McMann is a great author for kids like me. If you like fantasy, I think you should try this series out too.


Author: Carolyn Keene
Reviewer: Kayla (9 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/17/2021
Summary:

this book is about Nancy and her friends solving the mystery of the missing doll.

Review:

I like this book because I like mystery books. And it is very interesting.


Author: John Flanagan
Reviewer: Ryan (9 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/17/2021
Summary:

This book is about how Will and Halt find a maps in the beginning of the book, but, plot twist, the map was a phoney fake, designed by the evil Morgarath to destroy the kingdom of Araluen’s entire army! Then, thanks to the heroics of Will, Gilan, Horace, and Evalyn, secretly the king’s daughter Princess Cassandra, the kingdom is saved by them burning a wooden bridge so that Morgarath’s Wargal army cannot pass. Horace also helps by singlehandedly killing Morgarath, who, by the way, was probably the most powerful person alive the time he was alive. But sacrifices had to be made. Will and Evalyn were captured in the end and were taken away to Skandia.

Review:

I liked this book because it ended on a cliffhanger, with Will and Evalyn captured and sent to Skandia. I also liked this book because overall, it captures the the emotions and feelings of the characters perfectly.


Author: Lincoln Peirce
Reviewer: Nicholas (11 years old)
Rating: 0
Date: 07/14/2021
Summary:

The life of a grade 6 who is in middle school with amazing adventures.

Review:

The book is a good comedy for laughter and enjoyment.


Author: John Flanagan
Reviewer: Ryan (9 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/14/2021
Summary:

This book is about how Will, a boy who lived in a ward in Baron Arald’s castle after both his parent’s died in the king’s noble service, finally found acceptance on Choosing Day when he didn’t get chosen to be an apprentice by anyone, but instead got chosen to be a Ranger’s apprentice. The Ranger’s Corps is an mysterious organization that is hand-picked by King Duncan himself. Will is now an apprentice to Halt, only the most legendary Ranger ever. Will then sets out on a quest with Halt, to stop the kingdom from being invaded by Morgarath, an evil sorcerer, and his evil army.

Review:

I liked this book because it perfectly blends friendship, humour, and an impossible mission together, turning it into an suspenseful drama. Another reason why I liked this book was because it describes all the actions of the characters in full detail. Overall, it’s an amazing book, and I think John Flanagan is an excellent author for being able to weave such an intricate book together.


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/11/2021
Summary:

This book is about a girl named Sophie, who turns out to be a elf. She is moved to live in another world, and she starts school there, and gets adoptive parents. She misses her family, who she cannot visit anymore.

Review:

I like this book because it is full of adventures, and of a new world.


Author: Chris Riddell
Reviewer: Hilden (9 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/11/2021
Summary:

Zam is a baker in bakery No. 9. He finds a magic spoon laying on the ground. He soon realized that whatever he made came to life! But, when he got it stolen,he had to get it back. Will he get it back or will it be lost forever?
Phoebe is a musician. She finds a magical talking cello. Since the cello is magical, the clock maker in the town wanted to chop it into pieces. Will the cello be chopped up or can Phoebe save it?
Bathsheba is leaving her town hoping to find a giant to slay. But when she comes across bears, she is scared she will be eaten.Will the bears eat her or will she survive?
These three characters have different stories but, they all share a common goal to save the old and magical trees in an ancient forest.

Review:

I like this book because it is adventurous, full of magic, and about fantasy.


Author: Lisa Mcmann
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/11/2021
Summary:

This book is about 13 year olds that get separated into three groups; the necessaries, the wanteds, and the unwanteds. The unwanteds await their fate, while the other two groups are fine. The unwanteds go to a place called Artíme and meets a magician, Mr. Today. At Artíme, there\\\\\\’s classes where in Quill, the unwanteds former home, does not allow you to learn. Theirs music classes, acting classes, magical warrior classes, and more! In Quill, creativity is considered unacceptable.

Review:

I like this book because there\\\\\\’s magic.


Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Reviewer: Annabelle (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/11/2021
Summary:

This book is about a girl named Abby and her younger brother Jonah. They travel through their magical mirror in their basement to a fairy tale story. They ruin the story and makes it have a different ending. Can they fix it?

Review:

I like this book because it\\\\\\’s about fairy tales, and it\\\\\\’s adventurous. And also, that you get to journey through a new world as you read along.


Author: Kelly Yang
Reviewer: Cara (12 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/10/2021
Summary:

The Front Desk is about a girl named Mia Tang who immigrated from China to America. Things are different in America than in China and more difficult for Mia and her family. She is an only child and her parents are really struggling with money. They find a job at the Calivista Motel, and find out that the man who is running the motel, is a stubborn and demanding man. It gets harder for Mia’s parents with all the challenges that Mr. Yao gives them. What makes it even worse for Mia, is that Mr. Yao’s son, Jason, is just as stubborn as Mr. Yao. Mia starts her new journey at a new school. She learns that school in America is very different than how it was in China. Before, she would play with her cousins when she was in China. Now, she has to learn to make new friends. She makes a new friend named Guadalupe Garcia. She calls her Lupe for short and they become very close friends. Lupe talks about her life and Mia starts becoming insecure to share how her life is. Mia doesn’t want to tell Lupe that she lives in a motel and her parents are struggling with money, so she tells her how her life is amazing and how she has her own dog and lives a life that she has always wanted. At the motel, Mia is able to work at the front desk of the Calivista Motel. She feels accomplished and happy that she is able to feel like she is in control of something. She also learns to make friends with the residents at the motel, like a man named Hank. Meanwhile, Mia hides all the dreams that she is waiting to accomplish in life. Her dream is to become a writer, but her parents think that she does not have the ability to be able to write because of her bad English. They believe that she can only accomplish doing math and science which pushes away Mia’s dreams. Life doesn’t get easier for Mia and her parents, but she will do everything she can to be strong and keep pursuing her dreams.

Review:

I like this book because it teaches people that even if you are not capable of doing things that you want, you have to work hard and don’t give up. When Mia and her parents were struggling, they were still able to work hard and get where they wanted. Even if you don’t have everything that you want, you have to cherish the moments that matter and try not to compare yourself to others and stay positive like Mia did during the hard times of her life. Throughout the book, it talks about people who are treated differently because of their skin colour and I think that it is a very important topic to teach people around the world. You should always treat others with respect and I like that the Front Desk talked about that topic. This book was very fun and I had a very good time reading it. I would recommend this book to people who love reading a book that has a little bit of humour and a great plot.


Author: Scholastic
Reviewer: Heywood (7 years old)
Rating: 3
Date: 07/10/2021
Summary:

In A Mammoth Mystery, the problem is that the Cavemice are running out of mammoth’s milkshakes. The Cavemice need the milkshakes because the milkshakes are their favourite drinks. They are running out of mammoth milkshakes because the mammoths have ran away. They have ran away because a storm is coming and mammoths are afraid of lightning. The next morning, the village chief orders that the mammoths must be found. On the search, Geronimo finds a group of saber-toothed tigers! The group of saber-toothed tigers have caught a baby mammoth! Will the baby mammoth be eaten by the saber-toothed tigers or will he be saved by Geronimo and the Mammoths? Will the Cavemice find the mammoths to make more milkshakes? Find out more by reading the book! Happy Reading!

Review:

I like this book because I think it is funny and fun to read. It is funny because Geronimo is clumsy and gets into a lot of trouble.


Author: James Patterson
Reviewer: Alyssa (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/10/2021
Summary:

The summary is in the portion below.

Review:

I liked this book because it’s more of a mystery. Trying to figure out who stole the Brilliant Bluebird Diamond or who drew fake cave paintings. I liked how Rafe Kahatchadorian, the main character, went through some embarrassing times. Hey it happens to all of us. I also liked how the book shows just how many types of art there really is. For example, poetry, music, ceramics , sculptures, origami, filming and just drawing. It’s a real page turner and if you like this book I’ll bet you’ll like the rest of the Middle School series.


Author: Erin Hunter
Reviewer: Nella (11 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/09/2021
Summary:

A cat named Tigerheart, who lives in a clan, there are 5 clans: Thunderclan, Shadowclan, Riverclan, Skyclan and Windclan. He really likes a cat (Dovewing) who lives in ThunderClan, she likes him back. Also I might not have mentioned that it’s against the Warrior Code (their law) to have mates outside your Clan, Dovewing thinks it’s a good idea to leave the clans. So they leave, Dovewing and Tigerheart find the place they were looking for, and meet some new cats: Ant, Blaze, Spire and Cinnamon. Dovewing has kittens and names them Lightkit, Pouncekit and Shadowkit. Later they move back to the clans. Dovewing joins Shadowclan. But on the way there Tigerheart gets really hurt, hurt enough that he could die. Luckily Puddleshine was there, he’s their medicine cat, they take him to the Moonpool. Rowanstar their leader had died so as the deputy Tigerheart had to get his 9 lives at the moonpool.

Review:

I really like this book because, I love cats and there is way more, probably because it was the first Super Edition I ever read. Also I hope I didn’t spoil the book for you.


Author: Tui T Sutherland
Reviewer: Romina (12 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/09/2021
Summary:

This book takes place in a dragon-occupied planet and is about a NightWing with the name of Darkstalker who was born under three full moons and has the ability to read minds and see the future. His father was an IceWing with animus magic and he inherited his power. The more a dragon uses animus magic, the more he loses his soul and turns evil. At first, Darkstalker was not evil at all, but slowly became corrupted by evil the more he used his power, even though he had transferred all his power into a scroll in hopes of not becoming evil as he used his power, since it would not be in him anymore. At the end of the story, the NightWing tribe evacuates their city in fear of him. However, he is stopped by another animus and put to sleep for 2000 years…

Review:

I like this book because it has three protagonists and three different perspectives in the story. It also includes many descriptive words and is written well. However, the main reason I like this book is because it is about another world full of dragons with three moons.


Author: Chris Garbenstien
Reviewer: Matthias (11 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/07/2021
Summary:

This book is about a group of kids who live in a town with a library that makes games. The Library is run by a millionaire man named Luigi Lemoncello. The children test and play Mr Lemoncello’s crazy games and solve logic and realistic puzzles. In this particular book Mr Lemoncello is hosting a Library Olympics but unlike the previous books the games are open to grade 5s and 6s all around the United States of America. The Hometown Champions must defend their winning streak by defeating the other champions from the other areas of the United States of America. Will they win? Find out by reading this exciting and humorous book!

Review:

I like this book because the author, Chris Garbenstien cleverly places interactive elements in to the the book. An example of this would be the puzzles the children have to face are shown to you so you may try to solve them. Another reason why I like this book is because Chris Garbenstien always makes his books intresting and suspenseful and this in my opinion is one of his finest books. I highly recomend this book to book lovers who love good reads!


Author: Noriki Konishi
Reviewer: Yehuan (8 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/06/2021
Summary:

A boy named Nate finds a vending machine behind a tree then he opens it with a mysterious Yo-Kai approach. A creature pops out and he said that he was stuck from some unknown place and then Nate rescued him and the creature told him that his name is Whisper and gave him the Yo-Kai watch.

Review:

I recommend this book to age 7-12.
I love it!


Author: Annie Barrows
Reviewer: Scottie (5 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/05/2021
Summary:

Ivy and bean get babysitted by their sister Nancy and they be a little bit bad. It was funny when they went hiding and scared Nancy.

Review:

I liked this book a lot because it made me laugh a lot. Bean is very funny and brave.


Author: Jeff Kinney
Reviewer: Yehuan (8 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/04/2021
Summary:

a wimpy kid whose name is Greg Heffley talking about his own life in middle school and his best friend, Rowley. They make a comic called \”Zoo Wee Mama\”. It is so funny that I read it more than five times.

Review:

It is very funny and humorous.


Author: Katy Farina
Reviewer: Jayell (7 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 07/01/2021
Summary:

A girl named Karen went roller skating and she fell and broke her wrist. Then her brother went to call their dad. Their dad came running towards her. Then he asked ”are you okay?”. Then Karen said ”Just don’t shake me around that much”, so he didn’t. Then they went straight to the hospital. Then she saw her friend Ricky. He had a cast too but his was on his leg. Ricky said that he would get the signature of the basketball player Hubert Gregory. Then Karen wanted the signature of a famous person too. So she kept trying and trying but it didn’t work. Then when she stopped trying it worked. Karen got a famous person’s signature named Amy Morris. The end.

Review:

I like this book because it is funny and amazing. I like how the story goes. My favourite character is Karen because she knows how to roller skate, even though she broke her arm.


Author: Shannon Messenger
Reviewer: Callum (10 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 06/16/2021
Summary:

A girl that learns that she is an elf after she meets a mysterious boy, Fitz. Soon after she gets transported to a mystical land where she gets to learn to use new abilities to face off against a rebel faction. Their main objective – to kill her.

Review:

It goes deep into the characters relationships.


Author: Stefan Bachmann
Reviewer: Richard Yu (11 years old)
Rating: 4
Date: 07/07/2020
Summary:

A boy named Bartholomew and a girl named Hettie are brother and sister. They are changelings and have to hide from people. A changeling is the child of a faery and a human. Mr Lickerish wants to use Hattie as a door to get all the wild faeries to destroy London. Mechanical birds transport letters to Mr.Lickerish . Mr. Jelliby caught one and it said:” Take it to the moon”. There is a giant airship that Lickerish is in and he has plans to open the door.

Review:

I like this book because of how it switches between the characters and eventually the two plots become one, and this book did it very well. It is a great book for kids who like magic and cliff hangers. The sequel is also out which finishes the story. I recommend this book for ages 10 and up.


Author: Chris Rylander
Reviewer: Callum (9 years old)
Rating: 5
Date: 06/30/2020
Summary:

This book is about a 13 year old kid named Greg who figures out he’s a Dwarf after he’s dad brings home a strange new tea.After a little while he’s dad gets kidnapped and Greg has to do everything he can to bring he’s dad back.

Review:

I like this book because it is funny and adventurous